F.A.Q. – Frequently Asked Questions

As a relatively new technology, vacuum cooling is moving into more and more bakeries.

However, there are many questions that need to be answered before a purchase decision can be made – after all, the system should also suit the company. We have summarized the questions we frequently receive on similar issues in the form of FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions) and would like to answer them here.

Basically, components suitable for industrial use are used which are characterized by high availability. This keeps running costs to a minimum and reduces them to periodic service. The liquid ring pumps from EBS InnoTec only require an inspection every 23,500 hours.

It is not always possible to perfectly predict the demand for vacuum cooling chambers. Therefore, EBS InnoTec relies on flexible expansion and extension options. Up to three batch chambers can be connected to a vacuum pump station with two or three vacuum pumps. This is reflected in the acquisition costs and also ensures high availability of the vacuum system.

Manual doors put a strain on the workflow and require a lot of extra work from the staff.

Modern vacuum cooling systems close and open fully automatically. The doors are controlled by sensors, and they consequently always open at the ideal time.

Compared to manually operated doors, you have several other advantages. If, for example, the doors are forgotten to open after the cooling process, the baked goods remain in the closed batch chamber and become destabilized and the quality decreases. Furthermore, the rubber seals attached to the hinged door are very sensitive to mechanical damage caused by rack trucks entering or leaving the chamber. This often results in leaks and the final pressure in the chamber is not reached.

When using vacuum cooling with baked goods, there is a lot of water vapor as well as the mushy, sweet-sticky mass that is discharged from it after the cooling process has occurred. No previous vacuum pump (e.g. with oil-sealed rotary vane or the oil-free screw technology) can withstand this load in the long term without enormous consequential costs. It is mainly the frequent oil changes and the suffering condensers that are costly.

Experts now agree that only the water-guided pumps, without media breaks from EBS InnoTec ZUG, provide the ideal conditions for cooling and stabilizing baked goods.

If possible, access ramps are to be avoided. Ramps require space and are disruptive obstacles in confined spaces, which also pose a risk of accidents (slipping, stumbling). Pushing the trolleys up ramps is not only counter-productive, but also the cause of baked goods falling and baking trays moving in the trolley. In addition, ramps require more cleaning.

Ramp-free systems have to be embedded in the floor.

Our company has deliberately decided against the use of ramps in front of the batch chambers. The ramp-free construction of our vacuum cooling systems is already integrated in the basic price.

The sales price of a modern vacuum cooling system from EBS depends on the integrated functions.

EBS vacuum cooling begins in the basic configuration:

Modell “All-in-one”: From CHF 216’650

Modell “All-in-one”: From 196’950 €

Functional redundancy aims at designing safety-related systems several times in parallel so that in case of the failure of one component, the others guarantee the completed service.

Above that, the availability of a vacuum cooling system with EBS vacuum pumps is 99.8 %. If a vacuum pump in the system should ever fail, the vacuum cooling system can continue to operate with one or two redundant vacuum pumps.

Post-moistening adds the necessary water back to baked goods that have become too dry due to unfavorable processes. This makes the crust surface susceptible to rapid mold growth, which defeats the desired longer shelf life. Another disadvantage of this process is the loss of aroma substances, which applies in particular to bread, rolls, pretzel pastries, etc.

As much water as possible, which carries the flavor of the pastry, should be left in the crumb. This is ensured by the special pulsating process of the EBS InnoTec system.

Cooling down a rye mix bread weighing 800g takes 48 minutes in a cooling tower. This compares to 2 minutes and 10 seconds when using an EBS InnoTec vacuum cooling system. In addition, there are significant energy savings due to a (up to 50%) reduction in baking time, which also results in more effective utilization of baking area.

freezing becomes obsolete.

Of course, if you are interested, we offer you the possibility of carrying out a practical baking and vacuum test on a vacuum cooling system.

It is important to always complete the test with full trolley occupancy. The test baking must be carried out in a test chamber that corresponds to the original size! KSmall test chambers are not suitable and falsify the results. The volume of the chamber must be in the ratio 1:1!

Our EBS InnoTec facilities for testing are available on request. One is located at the Zeelandia company in Frankfurt am Main (Germany), the other at the Wick-Back Test Center in Rapperswil on Lake Zurich (Switzerland). Take advantage of a comparison that is sure to pay off for you.

Please send requests for an appointment or further questions to:

info@ebs-innotec.com

Are you intersted?

Contact us for more information!

Contact

F.A.Q. – Frequently Asked Questions

Die relativ neue Technologie der Vakuumkühlung zieht in immer mehr Backstuben ein.

Für eine Kaufentscheidung gibt es jedoch viele Fragen, schließlich soll die Anlage auch zum Unternehmen passen. Fragen, die uns häufig zu ähnlichen Anliegen erreichen, haben wir als sogenannte FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) zusammengefasst und möchten diese hier beantworten.

Grundsätzlich werden industrietaugliche Komponenten eingesetzt, welche sich durch eine hohe Verfügbarkeit auszeichnen. Damit werden die laufenden Kosten minimal gehalten und reduzieren sich auf den periodischen Service. Die Flüssigkeitsringpumpen von EBS InnoTec erfordern nur alle 23.500 Stunden eine Inspektion.

Nicht immer lässt sich der Bedarf an Vakuum-Kühlkammern perfekt voraussagen. Daher setzt die EBS InnoTec auf flexible Erweiterungs- und Ausbaumöglichkeiten. An einem Vakuumpumpenstand mit zwei- oder drei Vakuumpumpen lassen sich bis drei Batchkammern anschließen. Dies schlägt sich auf die Anschaffungskosten nieder und gewährleistet zusätzlich eine hohe Verfügbarkeit des Vakuum-Systems.

Manuelle Türen belasten den Arbeitsablauf und erfordern vom Personal viel zusätzliche Arbeit.

Moderne Vakuumkühlanlagen schließen und öffnen sich vollautomatisch. Die Türen werden über Sensoren gesteuert, und dies geschieht somit immer zum idealen Zeitpunkt.

Im Vergleich zu manuell betätigten Türen haben Sie einige weitere Vorteile. Wird z.B. das Öffnen nach dem Kühlprozess vergessen, bleiben die Backwaren in der geschlossenen Batchkammer liegen und werden destabilisiert und die Qualität sinkt. Ferner sind die an der Flügeltür angebrachten Gummidichtungen sehr empfindlich gegen mechanische Beschädigungen durch Ein- oder Ausfahrt von Stikkenwagen. Dadurch entstehen häufig Lecks und der Enddruck in der Kammer wird nicht erreicht.

Bei der Nutzung von Vakuumkühlungen mit Backwaren entstehen im Kühlprozess Belastungen mit Wasserdampf sowie der daraus ausgeleiteten breiigen, süßklebrigen Masse. Keine bisherige Vakuumpumpe (z.B. mit ölgedichtetem Drehschieber oder die ölfreie Schrauben-Technologie) hält diese Belastung langfristig ohne enorme Folgekosten aus. Hauptsächlich sind es häufige Ölwechsel sowie die leidenden Kondensatoren, die ins Geld gehen.

Die Fachwelt ist sich inzwischen einig, dass nur die wassergeführten Pumpen, ohne Medienbrüche von EBS InnoTec ZUG, die idealen Voraussetzungen für das Abkühlen und Stabilisieren von Backwaren bringen.

Wenn möglich sind Auffahrtsrampen zu vermeiden. Rampen erfordern Platz und sind bei beengten Platzverhältnissen störende Hindernisse, die auch eine Unfallgefahr (ausrutschen, stolpern) darstellen. Das Hinaufschieben der Wagen ist nicht nur eine unproduktive Arbeit, sondern auch die Ursache für das Herunterfallen von Gebäcken und Verschieben von Backblechen im Wagen. Zudem erfordern Rampen mehr Reinigungsaufwand.

Rampenfrei gebaute Anlagen müssen in den Boden eingelassen werden.

Bewusst hat man sich in unserem Unternehmen gegen den Einsatz von Rampen vor den Batchkammern entschieden. Der rampenfreie Aufbau unserer Vakuumkühlungen ist bereits im Grundpreis integriert.

Der Verkaufspreis einer modernen Vakuumkühlung von EBS ist natürlich abhängig von den integrierten Funktionen.
In der Basisausstattung beginnt die EBS-Vakuumkühlung:

Modell „All-in-one“: Ab CHF 216’650

Modell „All-in-one“: Ab 196’950 €

Funktionelle Redundanz zielt darauf ab, sicherheitstechnische Systeme mehrfach parallel auszulegen, damit beim Ausfall einer Komponente die anderen den Dienst gewährleisten.

Darüber ist die Verfügbarkeit einer Vakuumkühlung mit EBS Vakuum-Pumpen bei 99,8 % Verfügbarkeit. Sollte eine Vakuumpumpe im System mal defekt sein, kann die Vakuum-Kühl-Anlage mit einer oder zwei redundanten Vakuumpumpen weiter betrieben werden.

Mit dem Nachbefeuchten wird dem durch unvorteilhafte Prozesse bedingt zu trocken gewordenen Backgut das notwendige Wasser wieder zugeführt. Die Krustenoberfläche wird dadurch anfällig für schnelles Schimmeln, was die gewünschte längere Haltbarkeit zunichtemacht. Ein weiterer Nachteil dieser Prozessführung ist der Verlust von Aromastoffen, das gilt insbesondere bei Brot, Brötchen, Laugengebäcken usw.

Es ist so viel wie möglich Wasser, welches das Gebäckaroma mitträgt, in der Krume zu belassen. Dies wird über das spezielle pulsierende Verfahren der EBS InnoTec-Anlage gewährleistet.

Das Herunterkühlen eines Roggenmischbrotes mit 800g benötigt in einem Kühlturm 48 Minuten. Dem gegenüber stehen 2 Minuten und 10 Sek. bei Verwendung einer EBS InnoTec-Vakuumkühlung. Zusätzlich entstehen deutliche Energieeinsparungen durch eine (bis zu 50%) verkürzte Backzeit, was auch eine effektivere Ausnutzung von Backfläche mit sich bringt.

Schockfrosten wird obsolet.

Selbstverständlich bieten wir Ihnen bei Interesse die Möglichkeit, an einer Vakuum-Kühlanlage einen praxisbezogenen Back- und Vakuumtest auszuführen.

Dabei ist es wichtig, immer mit voller Wagenbelegung den Test abzuschliessen. Das Testbacken ist zwingend in einer Testkammer durchzuführen, die der Originalgrösse entspricht! Kleine Testanlagen sind nicht zweckdienlich und verfälschen das Ergebnis. Das Raumvolumen muss im Verhältnis 1:1 sein!.

Unsere EBS InnoTec-Anlagen zum Testen stehen auf Anfrage gerne zur Verfügung. Eine befindet sich bei der Firma Zeelandia in Frankfurt am Main (Deutschland), die andere im Wick-Back Test-Zentrum in Rapperswil am Zürichsee (Schweiz). Nutzen Sie einen Vergleich, der sich ganz sicher für Sie auszahlt.

Anfragen für einen Termin oder weitere Fragen senden Sie bitte an:

info@ebs-innotec.com

Sind Sie interessiert?

Kontaktieren Sie uns für weitere Informationen!

Kontakt